Cdnw round 3- Cockermouth

There are many reasons why I started this blog. I’m an inveterate attention seeker, I wanted to write again, I crave the approval of strangers and so on… However, a major concern was to be able to do the textual version of the continental pro’s post race interview. “Today was very hard, but it was a beautiful win. I dedicate this to my team” and so on and so forth.

This was my hometown race, so naturally I wanted to do well. Ever since I saw it on the calender back in October, it’s been this race I’ve been training for. The course has a 1km climb with the finish line at the top, a fast run down to the turn onto the back of the course and is then run on lumpy and rutted roads with 3 or 4 sharp sprinter hills. Five laps for 90km.

I quite enjoyed the first time up the climb, was at the front and threw myself at the first of the sprinter hills into a headwind, just checking how people would respond. Badly as it turned out, attacks started to come from everywhere and the first 2 laps were very fast, I was relegated to about 2/3s of the way down the bunch of 70 and was concerned, especially given the extremely fast weaving between parked cars and having to really push hard to bridge a gap up to the front as the bunch started to split on the big climb.

Fortunately, lap 3 calmed down a bit and I was able to recover from my exertions before instigating my plan… now, I like to think of P D Malcolm as a rider with panache, I don’t mind not winning, I do mind not trying. Were my fevered imaginings ever to become reality, I would be the pro that wins very little, but gives TV audiences what they crave… drama.

So it was with this sense of responsibility to French housewives and David Duffield weighing on me that I cast off my fear of manouvering around a fast bunch to move up on the run in to the back part of the course and gave it some stick. My aim wasn’t to escape, it was to see who wanted to hurt themselves over the hills and get rid of some of the bulky sprinters, my plan was then to attack. So I went hard, pulled all the way round the back of the course into the wind, if anyone tried to come past me, I dug again, this was my house and nobody was going to muscle me off the front. A look back at one point revealed the depleted field in one long line and elicited a shout of “that’s enough” one more kick up the last sprinter then a look to see who was left with me… everyone. A 30 strong group. And I was dead. Balls

Last lap saw me drift to the back of the bunch and struggle round with cramp. My last act was to try and pull Mike up for the sprint but he was shot too and couldn’t follow. I was popped off the back just as thee sprint started to wind up.

All in, I have to be pleased, I animated the race over a hard course and even fitted in some team work. Slight downer was bending my mech hanger in a touch of wheels… that’s my type of course and I have to learn to relax and take my time before acting, as well as saving energy over the whole race. But my bunch skills were a big improvement on last week and I’m gaining in confidence.

2 Comments

  1. Nice narrative and unlucky – at least you tried. I did nothing at the front. I personally thought this was a really hard race – much harder than the E123 race I did last week at Saighton. I especially liked warming up on the 15% hill out of Embleton before the race!!

    • Thanks Greg

      It’s way harder than Saighton… I train on that Cockermouth course every week and it never gets any easier. There’s no recovery on all those little hills round the back, and the surfacing is terrible too.

      That headwind was a killer eh?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

